Awards night highlighted positive season

The club’s annual senior awards night was held in the newly-refurbished and improved Log Cabin on Saturday evening.

Club chairman Andy Skinner was on hand to present the recipients with their awards.

The event recalled great memories of a very positive season which saw the Mount win their first Lancashire League silverware with a memorable T20 trophy win.

There were scintillating record-breaking feats from professional Jacques Snyman including an unforgettable 269 against Accrington.

Evan Williams – fresh from a first winter in Australia – really kicked on, showing consistent high levels of performance with both bat and ball including a memorable T20 century against Todmorden while Callum Hunter once again returned the overall best bowling performance across the club.

It was pleasing to see so many junior players emerge throughout the season with both the 13s and 15s winning their respective leagues and the 15s reaching their cup final only to lose to an excellent Clitheroe team.

The third team comprised many of these young players and finished top of their division. Three of these lads were fortunate enough to represent England in the Indoor Cricket World Cup in October – congratulations to Ed Dickinson, Ed Wackrill and Rupert Hallows.

Dan Stevens also earned further recognition for the club in the past week as a winner in the ECB Young Coach of the Year annual awards.

Team awards

Third team batting prize – Ed Dickinson

Third team bowling prize – Noah Birtwistle

Third team player of the year – Ed Dickinson

Second team batting prize – Nigel Franklin

Second team bowling prize – Ed Dickinson

Second team player of the year – Kieran Edwards

First team batting prize – Evan Williams

First team bowling prize – Callum Hunter

First team player of the year – Evan Williams

Club awards

Cyril Butterworth Batting Award for most runs – Evan Williams

Bowling Award for Most wickets – Callum Hunter

Pauline Rigby Award for U-18 junior player of the year – Max Birtwistle

Malcolm Grime Award for U-13 junior player of the year – Rupert Hallows

Club Person of the Year Award for Outstanding Contribution – John Stevens

More news from the Log Cabin...